A sunny day on the seaside

A crisp afternoon in Oslo inspired me to take a walk along the boardwalk. The area, called Aker Brygge, is a major tourist attraction with shops and restaurants that lead up to a new contemporary art gallery. But before it was invaded by high-end eateries and businesses in the late 1980s, it was a shipyard. Aker Brygge’s history gives it a texture that separates it from the rest of the city.

The two towers in the center of the photo are part of Oslo City Hall, where city council sits. This is also where the Nobel Peace Prize ceremony is every December.

However small the flats are here Norwegians love their dogs.

Public transportation in Oslo includes a boat service to Bygdøy, a peninsula that is part of the city, and the various islands around the OsloFjord.

A view of the North Sea behind a sculptural homage to Aker Brygge’s history.

The boardwalk in Aker Brygge twists and turns along the North Sea, including its many canals.

Locals can buy seafood caught fresh daily from the icy North Sea water.

Fishermen start selling at 7am and close up shop when they’re sold out.

The new Astrup Fearnley Museum of Modern Art, which opened to much hullabaloo in September, is at the end of the boardwalk. It is the home to Jeff Koons’ iconic sculpture of Michael Jackson with his chimp, Bubbles.

The National Theater sits adjacent to Aker Brygge. It’s considered the home of Henrik Ibsen’s plays. Ibsen is one of the most notable playwrights in Europe and is a known inspiration for Oscar Wilde, Arthur Miller and James Joyce.

The Norwegian Parliament, locally called Stortinget, which means “great thing.” There isn’t usually police tape surrounding it but recent hearings about the government and police reaction the day of the Breivik massacre has instigated higher security in the area.

16 thoughts on “A sunny day on the seaside

  1. I’m so jealous; you’re there, and I’m not. I visited Norway 15 years ago (sigh), and would love to return. My Norwegian side of the family lives in Fargo, North Dakota thanks to what I call a bad decision by my great-grandparents to move from such a beautiful country. But I understand the call from the land of opportunity. And now we have lefse in the U.S.!

    I’m not really jealous. I’m happy for you! And I’m enjoying your blog very much. These photos are great. I recall my husband and myself and my two young sons (5 and 7 at the time) munching on bags of little cooked shrimp from the fish market. Am I imagining that? Or can you still purchase that delectable snack?

    Also, I just Googled the Jeff Koons artwork. Frightenly funny.

  2. Found yr blog on the Events List.
    What do I think?? I think I’d love to be over there for my 3rd Norsk grandsons’ naming ceremony on the 25th…. but… not to be right now.
    I’ve been coming at least once a year for 15 yrs, since #2 Son married a beautiful Norwegian girl who even dreams in English (she says, don’t tell her mother…)
    What I ‘specially love are the school sales, I am an aficionado of OLD EUROPEAN JUNK!!
    It feels SAFE in Oslo– Love that. Folks are well-taken care of by their government. And I love getting around easily without a car!!
    Looking fwd to keeping up with yr blog, makes up for not being there right now~

  3. Pingback: Guest Post: Six degrees of separation | Edge of the Arctic

Tell me what you think.

